U.S. House
     Year of the Woman Candidate     
Campaigns and Readers:
You can help! 
Please send two (2)  of each intro lit. piece (if possible in flat envelope): 
115th Congress: Only 84 women (61D, 23R) serve in the U.S. House...or 19.3% of the 428 (435 minus 7 vacancies).

2018: A record 233 women (181D, 52R)
are on the Nov. 6 ballot for U.S. House.
102 women are elected
66 incumbents (54D, 12R) and 36 newcomers
(35D, 1R).

116th Congress: 23.4% of the 435 Members of the House are women.
Introduction/Candidates by State
To Celebrate the Year of the Woman Candidate We Are Gathering Basic Introductory Brochures/Flyers/Palm Cards from As Many Women Candidates for Congress As Possible—This Page Focuses Mainly on Democratic Challengers (the "Blue Wave"), but All Woman Candidates for U.S. House are Welcome.
This page launched July 3, and brochures were added as received.  Some pieces are from the primaries.  Materials from missing woman candidates are still welcome.  Thank you to helpful campaigns and citizens!

Eric M. Appleman
Democracy in Action
P.O. Box 19007
Washington, DC  20036-9007

action08 @ gmail

310 496-9633

Dem. Incumbents  |  Dem. Challengers  ||  Rep. Incumbents  |  Rep. Challengers

  Democratic Challengers/Open Seat Candidates Were Central to the Party's "Blue Wave" in 2018

AL-2 Tabitha Isner
vs. Martha Roby (R)
AL-3 Mallory Hagan
vs. Mike Rogers (R)
AZ-6 Anita Malik
vs. David Schweikert (R)

AZ-5 Joan Greene
vs. Andy Biggs (R)
AZ-8 Hiral Tipirneni
vs. Debbie Lesko (R)
CA-1 Audrey Denney
vs. Doug LaMalfa (R)
CA-4 Jessica Morse
vs. Tom McClintock (R)
CA-25 Katie Hill
vs. Steve Knight (R)


CA-42 Julia Peacock
vs. Ken Calvert (R)
CA-45 Katie Porter
vs. Mimi Walters (R)
CO-3 Diane Mitsch Bush
vs. Scott Tipton (R)

CO-5 Stephany Rose Spaulding
vs. Doug Lamborn (R)
CT-5 Jahana Hayes
vs. Manny Santos (R)
(Estes open seat)
FL-11 Dana Cottrell
vs. Dan Webster (R)

FL-26 Debbie Mucarsel-Powell
vs. Carlos Curbelo (R)
GA-1 Lisa Ring
vs. Buddy Carter (R)
GA-6 Lucy McBath
vs. Karen Handel (R)

GA-7 Carolyn Bourdeaux
vs. Rob Woodall (R)
ID-1 Cristina McNeil
vs. Russ Fulcher (R)
(Labrador open seat)
IL-13 Betsy Dirksen Londrigan
vs. Rodney Davis (R)

IL-14 Lauren Underwood
vs. Randy Hultgren (R)
IL-16 Sara Dady
vs. Adam Kinzinger
IN-4 Tobi Beck
vs. Jim Baird (R)
(Rokita open seat)

IN-5 Dee Thornton
vs. Susan Brooks (R)
IA-1 Abby Finkenauer
vs. Rod Blum (R)
IA-3  Cindy Axne
vs. David Young (R)
KS-3  Sharice Davids
vs. Kevin Yoder (R)
KY-6  Amy McGrath
vs. Andy Barr (R)

MA-7 Ayanna Pressley
(def. Mike Capuano (D) in primary)
MI-3 Cathy Albro
vs. Justin Amash (R)
MN-2 Angie Craig
vs. Jason Lewis (R)
MN-5 Ilhan Omar
vs. Jennifer Zielinski (R)
(Ellison open seat)

MT-AL Kathleen Williams
vs. Greg Gianforte (R)
NE-1 Jessica McClure
vs. Jeff Fortenberry (R)
NE-2 Kara Eastman
vs. Don Bacon (R)


NV-3 Susie Lee
vs. Danny Tarkanian (R)
(Rosen open seat)
NJ-11 Mikie Sherrill
vs. Jay Webber (R) (Freylinghusen open seat)
NM-1 Deb Haaland
vs. Janice Arnold-Jones (R) (Lujan Grisham open seat)
NM-2 Xochitl Torres-Small
vs. Yvette Herrell (R) (Steve Pearce open seat)

NY-14 Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez
vs. Anthony Pappas
(def. Joe Crowley (D) in primary)
NY-23 Tracy Mitrano
vs. Tom Reed (R)
NC-2 Linda Coleman
vs. George Holding (R)
NC-5 D.D. Adams
vs. Virginia Foxx (R)
OH-6 Shawna Roberts
vs. Bill Johnson (R)

OH-13 Theresa Gasper
vs. Mike Turner (R)
OH-16 Susan Moran Palmer
vs. Anthony Gonzalez (R) (Renacci open seat)
OK-5 Kendra Horn
vs. Steve Russell (R)
OR-2 Jamie McLeod-Skinner
vs. Greg Walden (R)

PA-4 Madeleine Dean
vs. Dan David (R)
PA-6 Chrissy Houlahan
vs. Greg McCauley (R)

PA-11 Jess King
vs. Lloyd Smucker (R)
PA-14 Bibiana Boerio
vs. Guy Roschenthaler (R)
PA-15 Susan Boser
vs. Glenn "GT" Thompson (R)

TN-2 Renee Hoyos
vs. Tim Burchett (R)
(Duncan open seat)
TX-1 Shirley McKellar
vs. Louie Goehmert (R)
TX-3 Lorie Burch
vs. Van Taylor (R)
TX-4 Catherine Krantz
vs. John Ratcliffe (R)
TX-6 Jana Lynne Sanchez
vs. Ron Wright (R)
(Barton open seat)

TX-7 Lizzie Pannill Fletcher
vs. John Culberson (R)
TX-14 Adrienne Bell
vs. Randy Weber (R)
TX-16 Veronica Escobar
vs. Rick Seeberger (R)
(O'Rourke open seat)

TX-24 Jan McDowell
vs. Kenny Marchant (R)
TX-25 Julie Oliver
vs. Roger Williams (R)
UT-2 Shireen Ghorbani
vs. Chris Stewart (R)
VA-1 Vangie Williams
vs. Rob Wittman (R)

VA-2 Elaine Luria
vs. Scott Taylor (R)
VA-5 Leslie Cockburn
vs. Denver Riggleman (R)
(Garrett open seat)
VA-10 Jennifer Wexton 
vs. Barbara Comstock (R)
WA-5 Lisa Brown
vs. Cathy McMorris Rogers

WV-1 Kendra Fershee
vs. David McKinley (R)
WI-7 Margaret Engebretson
vs. Sean Duffy (R)


Primary candidates welcome: please send examples of your materials!

Primary Candidate
CA-8 Marge Doyle CA-25 Jess Phoenix
MD-6 Aruna Miller
MN-5 Patricia Torres Ray

MN-5 Margaret Anderson Kelliher
VA-10 Alison Friedman
Readers: Help make this page better!
Please send examples, if possible 2 of each in a flat envelope (not folded or wadded up):
Eric M. Appleman
Democracy in Action
767 Radcliffe Ave.
Pacific Palisades, CA  90272

Dem. Incumbents  |  Dem. Challengers  ||  Rep. Incumbents  |  Rep. Challengers