Congressional Leadership - 2019-20

Effective congressional leadership requires a particular temperament and set of skills. The big four, at the top for the 116th Congress, are Speaker Nancy Pelosi (D) and Minority Leader Kevin McCarthy (R) in the House and Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell (R) and Minority Leader Chuck Schumer (D) in the Senate. These leaders serve as the faces of their respective parties. Pelosi was sworn in as Speaker on Jan. 3, 2019, reclaiming the gavel which she had held from Jan. 2007-Jan. 2011; she has led House Democrats since Jan. 2003.  McConnell became Minority Leader in Jan. 2007 and Majority Leader in Jan. 2015.

2017-18 Edition 2015-16 Edition  |  2013-14 Edition  |  2011-12 Edition  |  2010 Edition  

House >

Minority Leader - Kevin McCarthy (CA)*     twitter
Minority Whip - Steve Scalise (LA)*    twitter

Chair, Republican Conference - Liz Cheney (WY)*     twitter

NRCC Chairman - Tom Emmer (MN)

Chair, Republican Policy Committee - Gary Palmer (AL)*    twitter

Conference Vice-Chair - Mark Walker (NC)

Conference Secretary - Jason Smith (MO)
Note: Leadership elections held Nov. 14, 2018.


Republican Study Committee - Mike Johnson (LA)    twitter

Speaker - Nancy Pelosi (CA)*     twitter

Majority Leader - Steny H. Hoyer (MD)*     twitter

Majority Whip - James Clyburn (SC)*     twitter
Assistant Speaker - Ben Ray Luján (NM)     twitter

Democratic Caucus     twitter

Chair - Hakeem Jeffries (NY)
Vice Chair - Katherine M. Clark (MA)
Steering and Policy Committee
Co-Chairs - Rosa DeLauro (CT), Eric Swalwell (CA), Barbara Lee (CA)

DCCC Chairman - Cheri Bustos (IL)

Policy and Communications Committee
Chair - David Cicilline (RI)
Co-Chairs - Ted Lieu (CA), Debbie Dingell (MI), Matt Cartwright (PA)
junior class rep. - Jamie Raskin (MD)
freshman class reps. - Katie Hill (CA), Joe Neguse (CO)

Note: Leadership elections Nov. 29, 2018 and Nov. 30, 2018.


Progressive Caucus    twitter
New Democrat Coalition    twitter
Blue Dog Coalition     twitter

Senate >

Senate Republicans     twitter
Majority Leader - Mitch McConnell (KY)*
Majority Whip  - John Thune (SD)  

Chair, Senate Republican Conference - John Barrasso (WY)* 
Chair, Republican Policy Committee - Roy Blunt (MO)

Vice Chair, Senate Republican Conference - Joni Ernst (IA)
NRSC Chair - Todd Young (IN)
Note: Leadership elections held Nov. 14, 2018. 

Senate Democrats     twitter
Minority Leader - Chuck Schumer (NY)
Minority Whip - Dick Durbin (IL)

Assistant Democratic Leader - Patty Murray (WA)
Chair, Democratic Policy and Communications Committee - Debbie Stabenow (MI)* 

Vice Chairs of the Conference -
Elizabeth Warren (MI) and Mark Warner (VA)
Chair, Steering Committee - Amy Klobuchar (MN)* 

Chair, Outreach Committee - Bernie Sanders (I-VT)

Vice Chairman, DPCC - Joe Manchin (WV)

Senate Democratic Conference Secretary - Tammy Baldwin (WI)
DSCC Chair - Catherine Cortez-Masto (NV)

Note:  Leadership elections held Nov. 14, 2018. 

. .

*leadership page