California Democratic Party State Organizing Convention

– CDP videos 1, 2, 3 – 

May 31-June 2, 2019 in San Francisco, CA.

14 CANDIDATES: Booker, Buttigieg, Castro, Delaney, Gabbard, Gillibrand, Harris, Hickenlooper, Inslee, Klobuchar, O'Rourke, Sanders, Swalwell, Warren.

Background: The main purpose of this convention was to elect a new state party chair to succeed acting chair Alexandra “Alex” Gallardo-Rooker.  Some 3,000 plus delegates from around the state attended, electing Rusty Hicks, president of the L.A. Federation of Labor, to the position over progressive activist Kimberly Ellis.  In addition to the business side of the Convention, 14 of the 23 Democratic presidential candidates addressed delegates, putting a national spotlight on the event.  Having moved its primary date up to March 3, California is an important state on the Democrat's 2020 calendar.

U.S. Sen. Cory Booker
Mayor Pete Buttigieg
Former HUD Sec. Julián Castro
Fmr. US Rep. John Delaney
U.S. Rep. Tulsi Gabbard
U.S. Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand
U.S. Sen. Kamala Harris
Fmr. Gov. John Hickenlooper
Gov. Jay Inslee
U.S. Sen. Amy Klobuchar
Fmr. US Rep. Beto O’Rourke
U.S. Sen. Bernie Sanders
U.S. Rep. Eric Swalwell
U.S. Sen. Elizabeth Warren
Not Speaking
Sen. Michael Bennet
Fmr. Vice President Joe Biden (HRC event in Columbus, OH)
Gov. Steve Bullock
Mayor Bill de Blasio (in SC)
Mayor Wayne Messam
U.S. Rep. Seth Moulton
U.S. Rep. Tim Ryan (in IA)
Author Marianne Williamson (attending)
Entrepreneur Andrew Yang
In their seven minute speeches, candidates mixed strong denunciations of President Trump and his policies, with advocacy for their own candidacies and policies.  Attendees greeted most of the candidates enthusiastically, although the more moderate candidates Hickenlooper and Delaney did hear some boos.
California Democratic Party
May 28, 2019

California Democratic Party Announces Speaking Lineup for 2019 Organizing Convention

Sacramento, Calif. – Today, the California Democratic Party announced speakers for the 2019 California Democratic Party State Organizing Convention that will take place at the Moscone Center in San Francisco from May 31-June 2, 2019. The Friday Chair’s Welcome Reception will take place in the Moscone North Lower Lobby. General Sessions and Saturday Lunch/Dinner will take place in Hall F of Moscone North Hall.

CDP Acting Chair Alexandra Gallardo-Rooker
San Francisco Supervisor David Campos
San Francisco Mayor London Breed

CDP Acting Chair Alexandra Gallardo-Rooker
Former San Francisco Mayor Willie Brown
San Francisco Mayor London Breed
Governor Gavin Newsom
U.S. House Speaker Nancy Pelosi
Senate President pro Tem Toni G. Atkins
Lt. Governor Eleni Kounalakis
Attorney General Xavier Becerra
Controller Betty Yee
Secretary of State Alex Padilla
Insurance Commissioner Ricardo Lara
US Senator Kamala Harris
US Senator Cory Booker
US Rep. Beto O’Rourke
US Senator Elizabeth Warren

CDP Acting Chair Alexandra Gallardo-Rooker
Assembly Speaker Anthony Rendon
Senate President pro Tem Toni G. Atkins
US Rep. Zoe Lofgren, Chair of the CA Congressional Delegation

Tom Steyer, Founder of NextGen Climate
Joe Sanberg, Founder of CALEITC4Me
State Treasurer Fiona Ma
Supt. of Public Instruction Tony Thurmond (tent.)
Assemblymember Monique Limon
US Senator Kirsten Gillibrand
US Rep. Tulsi Gabbard
Mayor Pete Buttigieg
US Rep. Eric Swalwell
US Senator Amy Klobuchar
Fmr Governor John Hickenlooper
Governor Jay Inslee
CDP Secretary Jenny Bach
Former CDP Chair Art Torres
Rita Ramirez (Candidate for CDP Chair)
Rusty Hicks (Candidate for CDP Chair)
Daraka Larimore Hall (Candidate for CDP Chair)
Mike Katz-Lacabe (Candidate for CDP Chair)
Kimberly Ellis (Candidate for CDP Chair)
Mike Saifie (Candidate for CDP Chair)
Lenore Albert (Candidate for CDP Chair)

CDP Acting Chair Alexandra Gallardo-Rooker
US Rep. Adam Schiff
US Rep. Maxine Waters

CDP Acting Chair Alexandra Gallardo-Rooker
US Senator Bernie Sanders
The Hon. Julian Castro
Fmr. US Rep. John Delaney
CDP Secretary Jenny Bach
CDP Controller Dan Weitzman
Gilda Gonzalez, CEO of Planned Parenthood Northern California
April Verrett, SEIU 2015
Art Pulaski, California Labor Federation
Board of Equalization Member Malia Cohen
Board of Equalization Member Tony Vazquez
Board of Equalization Member Michael Schaefer