32 Delegates (21 Pledged and 11 Automatic) and 2 Alternates

Primary initially scheduled for April 28, 2020, postponed to June 2 and then to July 7.

  • Delaware Delegation to the Democratic National Convention

  • AUTOMATIC (11)
    Vice President Joe Biden
    U.S. Sen. Tom Carper
    U.S. Sen. Chris Coons
    Congresswoman Lisa Blunt Rochester
    DNC Disability Caucus Chair, Former Congressman Tony Coehlo
    DLCC Finance Council Chair, House Majority leader Valerie Longhurst
    State Party Chairman Erik Raser-Schramm
    State Party Vice Chair Betsy Maron
    DNC National Committeeman Sean Finnigan
  • DNC National Committeewoman Kerri Evelyn Harris

  • AT-LARGE (5)

  • PLEO (2)
  • Attorney General Kathy Jennings
    Speaker of the House Pete Schwartzkopf

  • DISTRICT (14)
    Lorraine Badley (New Castle Co.)
    David Baker (Sussex Co.)
    Tammy Browning-Smith (New Castle Co.)
    Italo Carrieri-Russo (New Castle Co.)
    Gary Duren Sr. (Kent Co.)
    Rita Hughes (Sussex Co.)
    James Hussey (New Castle Co.)
    Carmen Jordan-Cox (New Castle Co.)
    Helene Keeley (Wilmington)
    Gemma Lowery (New Castle Co.)
    James Maravelias (New Castle Co.)
    Terri McIvor (Kent Co.)
    Richard Smith (Wilmington)
    Martin Willis (New Castle Co.)

  • Standing Committees


Delaware Democratic Party
July 14, 2020


With 96% of eligible state electors voting, Delaware Democrats have elected their 14 Subdivision-level delegates to the Democratic National Convention. These delegates join the First State's 10 automatic Delegates and 2 Party Leader/Elected Official delegates to form the foundation of Delaware's Delegation as we nominate our own Joe Biden for president next month. On Thursday, our delegation will convene for the first time - albeit virtually - and our Subdivision-level will round out our 31-person delegation by choosing 5 At-Large Delegates and 2 At-Large Alternates. The delegation will also confirm Standing Committee members as well as convention pages.

March 21, 2020

BREAKING: Delaware Democratic Party to immediately postpone all Delegate Selection Votes

On the evening of March 21, Chairman Erik Raser-Schramm issued the following notice announcing the postponement of Delegate Selection votes.

Dear Delaware Democrat,

As the stark realities of the coronavirus outbreak become clearer across our state, we feel a responsibility to revisit our plans regarding our Party’s Delegate Selection process.

Today, the Delaware Democratic Party is announcing that it is immediately suspending our Delegate Selection Caucus process and all corresponding district-level votes.

While the majority of Delaware’s 41 representative districts have already selected their delegates to our State Convention, another dozen districts still need to hold their elections. We recognize that those running to be state delegates are eager for their districts to vote, but we must prioritize public health during these unprecedented times.

As soon as we are able to communicate additional details about the timing and nature of these pending caucus votes, we will communicate them to each of you.

In the meantime, please know that we are doing all we can to be faithful partners in bending the curve of this pandemic, and partnering with our state officials on solutions that keep all Delawareans safe.


Erik Raser-Schramm
Chairman, Delaware Democratic Party