National Popular Vote Interstate Compact

 As of May 25, 2019 enacted into law in 15 jurisdictions with 189 electoral votes:

On May 21, 2019, the Nevada Senate passed the National Popular Vote bill 12-8, and sent the bill to the office of Governor Steve Sisolak (status of AB186).

On May 15, 2019, the Nevada Senate Operations and Elections Committee approved the National Popular Vote bill (status of AB186).

On Wednesday April 24, 2019, the Nevada Senate Legislative Operations and Elections Committee held a public hearing (agenda) on the National Popular Vote bill (status of AB186).

On May 14, 2019, the Maine Senate passed the National Popular Vote bill by a 19-16 vote (status of LD 816).  The bill now goes to the House.


On April 30, 2019, the Minnesota House of Representatives passed an omnibus bill (status of SF2227) containing the National Popular Vote interstate compact by a 73-58 vote.  The Minnesota House is the 39th state legislative chambere to have passed the National Popular Vote interstate compact. The bill wwent to a conference committee involving the House and Senate; however, the legislature adjourned for the year on May 20 without acting on the bill.  

On April 3, 2019, a hearing was held on an omnibus election bill (status of HF 1603) containing the National Popular Vote bill.

In March 2019, Representative John Lesch introduced the National Popular Vote bill into the Minnesota House (status of HF1941).


On May 20, 2019, the House Rules Committee held a hearing on the National Popular Vote Bill (status of SB 870).  A work session (where the committee members vote) is expected soon. 

On April 10, 2019, the Oregon House of Representatives gave a first reading to the National Popular Vote Bill (status of SB 870).

On April 9, 2019, the Oregon Senate passed the National Popular Vote Bill (status of SB 870) with a bipartisan vote of 17-12.  The bill now goes to the Oregon House.


On April 3, 2019, Governor Michelle Lujan Grisham signed the National Popular Vote bill  (status of HB 55), making New Mexico the 15th jurisdiction to have enacted the bill into law.

On March 12, 2019, the New Mexico Senate passed the National Popular Vote bill  (status of HB 55) by a 25-16 vote.


On March 28, 2019, Governor John Carney signed the National Popular Vote bill, making Delaware the 14th jurisdiction to enact the bill into law.  The League of Women Voters and Common Cause Delaware were especially helpful in getting the bill passed in the Delaware legislature. 


On March 15, 2019, Governor Jared Polis signed the National Popular Vote bill (status of SB19-042), making Colorado the 13th jurisdiction to enact the National Popular Vote interstate compact into law.


On May 24, 2018, Governor Dan Malloy signed the National Popular Vote bill, thereby making Connecticut the 12th jurisdiction to enact the bill.

On May 5, 2018, the Connecticut Senate passed the National Popular Vote bill by a bi-partisan 21-14 vote.  Governor Dan Malloy and Lieutenant Governor Nancy Wyman issued a statement saying "I commend the legislature for sending [the National Popular Vote bill] to the Governor's desk.”  Their statement follows Senate passage by Statement by Senate Majority Leader Duff   A total of 68 representatives and 13 senators were co-sponsors (list of co-sponsors) of the National Popular Vote bill in Connecticut (Status of HB-5421 and SB-408) at the time the bill was passed by the Senate.