League of Conservation Voters
Contact: Holly Burke
November 7, 2018


LCVAF aided in historic victories nationwide

Washington, D.C. — As we wait for final votes to be counted across the country, LCV Action Fund congratulates our endorsed candidates on their victories in the 2018 midterm elections. LCV Action Fund is proud to have helped to elect at least 46 new members of Congress.

In the 2018 cycle, LCV Action Fund endorsed more women and people of color than ever before and supported candidates who made history including Sharice Davids and Deb Haaland, the first ever Native American women to be elected to the Congress, and Rashida Tlaib and Ilhan Omar, the first ever Muslim women to be elected to Congress.

LCV Action Fund congratulates all of our winning endorsees, including the following incoming class of environmental champions: 
  • Tina Smith, MN-SEN
  • Jacky Rosen, NV-SEN
  • Greg Stanton, AZ-09
  • Katie Hill, CA-25
  • Mike Levin, CA-49
  • Joe Neguse, CO-02
  • Jason Crow, CO-06
  • Jahana Hayes, CT-05
  • Donna Shalala, FL-27
  • Abby Finkenauer, IA-01
  • Cindy Axne, IA-03
  • Jesus “Chuy” Garcia, IL-04
  • Sean Casten, IL-06
  • Lauren Underwood, IL-14
  • Sharice Davids, KS-03
  • Lori Trahan, MA-03
  • Ayanna Pressley, MA-07
  • David Trone, MD-06
  • Elissa Slotkin, MI-08
  • Andy Levin, MI-09
  • Haley Stevens, MI-11
  • Rashida Tlaib, MI-13
  • Angie Craig, MN-02
  • Dean Phillips, MN-03
  • Ilhan Omar, MN-05
  • Chris Pappas, NH-01
  • Andy Kim NJ-03
  • Tom Malinowski, NJ-07
  • Mikie Sherrill, NJ-11
  • Deb Haaland, NM-01
  • Xochitl Torres Small NM-02
  • Susie Lee, NV-03
  • Steven Horsford, NV-04
  • Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez, NY-14
  • Joe Morelle, NY-25
  • Madeleine Dean, PA-04
  • Mary Gay Scanlon, PA-05
  • Chrissy Houlahan, PA-06
  • Susan Wild, PA-07
  • Veronica Escobar, TX-16
  • Sylvia Garcia, TX-29
  • Colin Allred, TX-32
  • Elaine Luria, VA-02
  • Abigail Spanberger, VA-07
  • Jennifer Wexton, VA-10
  • Kim Schrier WA-08

Paid for by League of Conservation Voters Action Fund, www.lcvactionfund.org, and not authorized by any candidate or candidate’s committee.

League of Conservation Voters
Contact: Holly Burke
November 7, 2018


Leadership change means accountability, oversight for polluters & their Trump administration allies

Washington, D.C. — In response to the change in party control of the U.S. House of Representatives, the League of Conservation Voters released the following statement from Senior Vice President for Government Affairs, Tiernan Sittenfeld:

“Tonight voters across the country decisively rejected the most anti-environmental U.S. House of Representatives in our nation’s history. Since 2009, the extreme Republican leadership of the U.S. House has put corporate polluters ahead of people and their communities time and again. For the last two years they have aided and abetted the most anti-environmental president ever. But now voters have clearly called for change, supporting candidates who campaigned on protecting people and our environment — and rejecting those who gave only lip service to the urgent threat of climate change. 

“We congratulate the new pro-environment majority, and we are confident they will stand up for our air, water, lands, wildlife and of course our climate. It’s long past time for the House to do badly needed  oversight and accountability of a dangerous administration bent on rolling back common-sense protections for our environment and our health. Now we need to accelerate our transition to clean energy and act on climate, and we look forward to working with the new Congress to do just that.”

LCV Action Fund endorsed at least 28 of the new members of Congress, many of whom campaigned on the need for climate action and protecting clean air, clean water and public lands.

LCV Victory Fund and affiliated entities invested a record-breaking $17.5 million across more than 26 House districts and raised an additional $5.5 million for House candidates through GiveGreen