Congressional Leadership - 2017-18

Effective congressional leadership requires a particular temperament and set of skills. The big four, at the top for the 115th Congress, are Speaker Paul Ryan (R) and Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi (D) in the House and Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell (R) and Minority Leader Chuck Schumer (D) in the Senate. These leaders serve as the faces of their respective parties. Ryan was sworn in as Speaker on Oct. 29, 2015 following John Boehner's resignation. Pelosi has led House Democrats since Jan. 2003, including four years as Speaker from 2007-2011. McConnell became Minority Leader in Jan. 2007 and Majority Leader in Jan. 2015. Schumer succeeded long-time leader Harry Reid as leader of Senate Democrats in Jan. 2017.

2017-18 Edition 2015-16 Edition  |  2013-14 Edition  |  2011-12 Edition  |  2010 Edition  

House >

Speaker - Paul Ryan (WI)*     twitter

Majority Leader - Kevin McCarthy (CA)*     twitter
Majority Whip - Steve Scalise (LA)*    twitter

Chair, Republican Conference - Cathy McMorris Rodgers (WA)*     twitter

NRCC Chairman - Steve Stivers (OH)

Chair, Republican Policy Committee - Luke Messer (IN)*    twitter

Conference Vice-Chair - Doug Collins (GA)

Conference Secretary - Jason Smith (MO)
Sophomore Representative - Mimi Walters (CA)
Freshman Representative - Paul Mitchell (MI)
Note: Leadership elections held Nov. 15, 2016.

Republican Study Committee - Mark Walker (NC)    twitter

Minority Leader - Nancy Pelosi (CA)*     twitter

Minority Whip - Steny H. Hoyer (MD)*     twitter

Assistant Leader - James Clyburn (SC)*     twitter

Democratic Caucus     twitter

Chair - Joe Crowley (CT)
Vice Chair - Linda T. Sánchez (CA)

DCCC Chairman - Ben Ray Luján (NM)

Democratic Steering and Policy Committee

Co-Chair - Rosa DeLauro (CT)
Co-Chair - Eric Swalwell (CA)
Democratic Policy and Communications Committee
Note: There was some discontent with Pelosi among House Democrats to the point where they pushed back their leadership elections from Nov. 17 to Nov. 30, 2016.  Still Pelosi prevailed, defeating Rep. Tim Ryan (OH) by a vote of 134 to 63.


Progressive Caucus    twitter

New Democrat Coalition    twitter
Blue Dog Coalition     twitter

Senate >

Senate Republicans     twitter
Majority Leader - Mitch McConnell (KY)*

Majority Whip - John Cornyn (TX)

Chair, Senate Republican Conference - John Thune (SD)*    
Chair, Republican Policy Committee - John Barrasso (WY)*     twitter

Vice Chair, Senate Republican Conference - Roy Blunt (MO)
NRSC Chair - Cory Gardner (CO)
Note: Leadership elections held Nov. 16, 2016. No changes except Gardner taking over at NRSC.

Senate Democrats     twitter
Minority Leader - Chuck Schumer (NY)
Minority Whip - Dick Durbin (IL)

Assistant Democratic Leader - Patty Murray (WA)
Chair, Democratic Policy and Communications Committee - Debbie Stabenow (MI)* 

Vice Chairs of the Conference -
Elizabeth Warren (MI) and Mark Warner (VA)
Chair, Steering and Outreach Committee - Amy Klobuchar (MN)* 

Chairman of Outreach - Bernie Sanders (I-VT)

Vice Chairman, DPCC - Joe Manchin (WV)
DSCC Chair - Chris Van Hollen (MD)

Note: Leadership elections held Nov. 16, 2016. 

. .

*leadership page